Bridge construction began in 1937; this is probably the summer of 1938, taken from the Deer Isle side. The bridge opened in July 1939. Funding for it came from the Public Works Administration; it cost about a million 1939 dollars. Like some of Maine’s parks, it is an enduring example of capital investment for depression fighting dollars.
Fast, economical building meant prefabricating parts including the cofferdams needed for the pedestals as well as using recycled materials. The same builders produced the 1931 Waldo Hancock Bridge using the same cable design.
The bridge made the Deer Isle/ Stonington area available to the new automobile driving tourists. It’s now a carefully monitored and maintained life line.